Recent events mark a watershed for Ukraine, Europe and the whole world.
The National Commissions for UNESCO of Europe (and beyond) condemn the attack on Ukraine by the Russian Federation in the strongest terms. We express our solidarity with the people of Ukraine, which includes the journalists covering the conflict zone, and the teachers, educators, students and pupils who have the right to be educated in peace.
We fully support our partners who advocate for UNESCO’s goals and values in Ukraine and beyond.
On 24 February, UNESCO called for the respect of international humanitarian law. Specifically, it called for the preservation of freedom of information, the protection of media professionals and to respect the Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict. A total of seven UNESCO World Heritage sites are located in Ukraine. Following the recent escalation of violence, the UN Secretary General Mr. Antonio Guterres asked the Russian President to withdraw his troops from Ukraine.

National Commissions for UNESCO of Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium (Flanders), Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Estonia, Faroes, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.